European Union

The European Union (EU) consists of 28 Members States and has a population of around 500 million; it is a unique economic and political union between its member countries who have decided to gradually link together their knowhow, resources and destinies. Together, during a period of enlargement of 50 years, they have built a zone of stability, democracy and sustainable development whilst maintaining cultural diversity, tolerance and individual freedoms. Today, the EU is one of the largest trading blocs and development assistance provider in the world.

The European Union Delegation to Somalia is one of over 130 EU Delegations around the world and it has the status of a diplomatic mission and officially represents the European Union in Somalia.

As part of its mandate the Delegation promotes the political and economic relations between Somalia and the European Union through extensive relations with Somali counterparts and by increasing awareness of the EU, its institutions and its programmes. The Delegation also participates in the implementation of the European Union’s assistance programmes and informs the public of the development of the EU and to explain individual EU policies;

For more information on the European Union and its bodies please visit: or